McDonald French Fries I joined the Shanghai Food Allergies Support Group to connect with other people in Shanghai who have or have family members with food allergies.

Recent discussions have been about the ingredients used in McDonald’s french fries! Apparently, one of the ingredients, natural beef flavor, contains wheat and milk! The message came as a surprise to many people because of all the things that are served at McDonald, french fries seems to be the most innocent (and only) gluten-free, dairy-free item.

However, some people in the Shanghai food allergies group think that the french fries served in China are prepared differently than in the U.S.  I can’t find any information about the ingredients used in China.

French Fries:
Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*), citric acid (preservative), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil ((may contain one of the following: Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness), dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent). *
CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK (Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

If you have celiac disease or are severely allergic to wheat, gluten, or dairy, you should probably stay away from McDonald’s french fries.

For more information about ingredients used in McDonald’s menu items, visit the official website.

Leave a comment

Name: (Required)

eMail: (Required)

Website:

Comment: